Sunset @ St Kilda Beach

Finished work a little late today, and set off for home with Sam, Alvin and YC around 8pm.  As usual, I had my camera with me a grabbed a couple of shots as the light was fantastic.

DSC_6984

DSC_6987

Jokingly, Alvin suggested that we head to St Kilda to enjoy the sunset, and maybe snap a couple of shots, and was surprised when both Sam and myself were agreeable to that idea.

A quick change of clothes and grabbing the cameras upon getting home, we were on a tram headed for St Kilda beach.

 

The sun was beginning to set by the time wDSC_6999e got to St Kilda.  Light was changing fast, but i got a nice flared shot almost immediately.

When questioned on what filters I’ve used for such beautiful flares, the answer drew dirty stares from my companions: I didn’t, it’s just that my lens was dusty/dirty enough. 🙂

We set of towards the beach, giving little tips to Sam who was just starting out on his new SLR, a Canon though…

 

DSC_7015 Walking on the pier, we noticed a guy perched on the breakwater with his gear, braving the winds, waves and spray.  Makes me wonder how long his camera, lens and tripod would last after his shoot.  I had fun taking photos of him anyway.

 

Apparently St Kilda Breakwater is a hang out for some penguins at dusk, and lots of people crowded at a viewing platform to catch a glimpse of these birds.  Some shriek with joy when they spotted a couple of them in the dark waters.  I only saw a huge rat running past Alvin the whole time… Lucky me.

Nonetheless, the wonderful sunset at St Kilda, wide lens and 30 sec exposures gave some truly wonderful pictures.

DSC_7063.NEF

DSC_7033.NEF 

DSC_7061.NEF 

DSC_7064.NEF

Which do you like?

One response to “Sunset @ St Kilda Beach

  1. I like the 1st n 3rd ones. In fact, all are very nice. =)

Leave a Reply

